Reporting a Crime
If it is an emergency, please call 911. Other reports can be made in person at the Searcy Police Department or by calling the Dispatch Center at (501)268-3531.
The citation can be paid between 8:00 am – 4:30 pm at the Records Department window until the Tuesday afternoon before the court date. After that time the ticket needs to be paid at the Court Clerks office located in the White County Law Enforcement Center at 1600 E. Booth Road.
General Incident Reports
General Incident Reports may be obtained from the Records Department window at a cost of $0.50 a page.
Motor Vehicle Accident Reports
Motor Vehicle Accident reports may be obtained from the Records Department window in 3 to 5 working days from the date of the accident. Arkansas State mandates a charge of $10.00 for each report.
Freedom of Information Requests
The Searcy Police Department will respond to all requests under the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act within a 72 hour period. Cost for reports is $0.50 a page.
Personal Property Seized by Police
Police take property for two reason, evidence and safekeeping. Evidence – Property taken as evidence will not be released until the case is resolved in the courts. If you are accused, you will then need to obtain a property release from the lead Detective or Prosecutor. A letter will be sent to you when your property is authorized for release. Safekeeping – If we found your property, or took it from you for safekeeping, you will be able to pick it up by appointment. You may call (501)268-3531 for more information and to schedule an appointment.
Recovery of Stolen Property
Unfortunately, the Property Facility is not set up for public viewing. If you have reported a theft and a serial number has been listed, we will contact you if we find your item. Reports are checked daily. If we recover property that we recognize as stolen we will contact the owner and set up an appointment for a viewing, then either return the property or advise you when it can be returned.
The Searcy Police Department does not charge for this service and you may come have this done anytime an officer is available.
There is no charge for this service but it must be signed in person and verified with identification between 8:00 am – 4:30 pm at the Records Department window.
You may pick up an application for the Searcy Police Department at City Hall located at 401 W. Arch Avenue.
White County Law Enforcement Center
The White County Law Enforcement Center is located at 1600 E. Booth Road. In this facility you will find the District Courtroom, Court Clerks, Probation, Sheriff’s Department, and the jail.
Seat Belt Use
Arkansas law requires all children under the age of fifteen years who are passengers in a motor vehicle to be buckled-up. Furthermore, children younger than six years of age and weighing less than sixty pounds must be restrained in approved safety seats.
Arkansas is among a group of states that require seat belt use by drivers and front seat passengers. State law requires police to have a reasonable cause other than a seat belt violation to stop a vehicle and cite a violator. However, an unrestrained child in a moving motor vehicle is considered a primary violation allowing police to stop the vehicle without another cause.
The Searcy Police Department Firing Range is located on city property on N. Main Street. Because of the liability involved, a certified Searcy Police Department Range Officer must accompany civilians to the range at their own expense.