City Hall
Government Organization

The City of Searcy is an Arkansas municipality using the Mayor-Council form of government. The Mayor is elected to serve a term of four years and is elected by the entire city electorate. There are eight council members, which are elected for two-year terms by the electorate per the ward they represent. There are four wards within the City with two City Council representatives per ward. The Mayor appoints City department heads to oversee the operations of each department. State law provides that the department heads serve at the will of the Mayor and may be terminated by the Mayor. The city is represented by a City Attorney elected to a four-year term. The City Clerk-Treasurer is an elected 4-year term position responsible for maintaining all permanent records and all financial records for the City in accordance with local, state and federal laws. The City is also responsible for District Court and the two District Judges who serve a 4-year elected term voted upon by the jurisdiction of the County.

Municipal government is a service level of government and deals with those basic physical and social services desired by individuals residing in communities. Municipal government, being the closest to the people and being a creature of the higher levels of government, must be provided with resources and authority from the other levels of government in order to carry out its vital role.

Download the City Organizational Chart

City Contact Information
401 W Arch Av.
Searcy, AR 72143
Phone: 501-268-2483
Fax: 501-268-2104

Email Mayor's Administrative Assistant Lillie Cook: